Shrimp and Asparagus Pasta Salad

*****First and most importantly, THANK GOD the people of Boston can sleep tonight.  My heart is heavy for those poor innocent people.  I will continue to pray for and run for Boston.

On a lighter note, here is what we had for dinner tonight:

Shrimp and Asparagus Pasta Salad 2  Shrimp and Asparagus Pasta Salad

I got the idea from a food magazine that my Mom has, it is pretty much the same except it did not have pasta and I prepared the shrimp differently. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1/2 bunch of asaragus
  • 1 lemon
  • 3 hard boiled eggs
  • 1/4 t paprika
  • 8 oz shrimp (around 15 pieces)
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 stick butter
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 C light mayo
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions:

The first thing I did was boil my eggs and pasta.  When finished I set them aside to cool.  Next, I prepped my shrimp by mincing the garlic cloves and putting salt and pepper on the shrimp. (I did not cut off the tails, but I recommend doing so, also make sure they are peeled and deveined).

Over medium heat,  melt the butter and add 1 clove of garlic.  Sauté the shrimp, and at the end squeeze 1/4 of the lemon’s juice over the shrimp.  Set aside.

While the shrimp are cooking, slice your bell pepper and asparagus.  When finished, in a small bowl combine the remaining lemon juice, paprika and mayo into a sauce. Make sure to quarter or half your boiled eggs!

In a large pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat and add the asparagus and bell pepper.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Cook 6-8 minutes or until tender but crisp.

To assemble, layer the pasta on the bottom, add the vegetables, then the mayo mixture before adding the shrimp and eggs.  Toss before serving, Enjoy!

Yields 2-3 dinner sized portions.

Ours was warm, but we made the observation that this would also be excellent cold.  We also noted that orzo or squash would be good substitutions for the pasta.

xoxox

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

