My 7 favorite places in San Francisco

In honor of today’s Daily Post, and yesterday’s spur of the moment SF trip, I am going to tell y’all my 7 favorite places in San Francisco!

The DP reads as such:

The Satisfaction of a List-Who doesn’t love a list? So write one! Top five slices of pizza in your town, ten reasons disco will never die, the three secrets to happiness — go silly or go deep, just go list-y.

Yesterday morning I drove Joe to the EIT or (Engineer in Training) in San Mateo and had to be there before 7:00 am.  I decided to take the short drive up to SF afterward because it was so close and I had nothing better to do for the next 8 1/2 hours.  On the way up I stopped off at a beautiful little park and walked around before watching the sunrise and the planes at the airport take off and land.

Sunrise 4-13 waterSunrise 4-13 ocean

Park 4-13Flowers 4-13Pier 4-13Airplane landing SFO

After taking in all of the beauty I headed up to USF to walk around a bit and captured a picture from behind St. Ignacious, just beautiful!

                                   USF Statue                                               St. Ignacious SF

Shortly afterward I headed home for several hours before picking Joe up and heading BACK to SF for dinner at one of my favorite places in the city- Milano Pizzeria on 9th Avenue.  It’s no surprise that many of them are places to eat, lol! So here we go with my list:

7.   Milano Pizzeria– It may be cash only, however it is good enough to hit an ATM first.  I personally love the pepperoni and garlic with fresh oregano on it…YUM!

6.   Crepevine on Irving- The best breakfast I have had in the city so far (and this is a small chain!). I love the atmosphere and people who work there.  EVERYTHING on the menu is delicious.crepevine

5.   Java Beach Café– Located at Ocean Beach, Joe and I would walk there from my Great Grandparent’s house when we used to visit.  I like to watch the surfers come in and they have good coffee and muffins. Not to mention the fresh air out there!

java beach

4.   Boudin at the Wharf– When I lived in SF I would frequent Boudin and get a chili bread bowl and Joe loves their chowder bowls.  Their original location and main bakery is located at Fisherman’s Wharf, where you can watch the bread makers through the windows, walk through their history gallery, and smell the fresh bread.  When you eat you can sit in their upstairs dining room at stare at the boats coming into the bay.

Boudin Bakers

3.   USF/Cole/Noe Valley- I just love to walk around these areas so much.  They are truly SF and not touristy.  I always feel home when I’m there and they have really cute spots to shop and eat.  The houses in those areas can be BEAUTIFUL too.

                        SF neighborhood map                                  SF houses

2.   AT&T Park– Home of the San Francisco Giants!

ATT park gate

1.   North Beach– In particular Saints Peter and Paul Church– located in Washington Square Park, this is the most beautiful church I have ever been too.  I have seen so many get married there and actually sat in on part of one! Shh don’t tell anyone! Jen and I went to the Italian American Festival there and LOVED it.  I love the area and the park because there are so many kids and people running around and during the summer they show movies in the park at night!  I also love Coit tower especially at night.

Coit Tower  St Peter and Paul

Those are SOME of my favorite places and are DEFINETLY not all of them.  Did I leave anything good out?

Q: What is your favorite place in SF?

xoxox

Amanda

7 thoughts on “My 7 favorite places in San Francisco

  1. I occasionally enjoy some breakfast at Mama’s on Filbert/Stockton. Unless you get the first seating when it opens at 8AM, you’re waiting for awhile for some delicious options like waffles, egg benedicts and omelets, burgers and other sandwiches. I’ll often head across the street to Liguria Bakery for awesome focaccia bread if I want to use it in a meal/snack or eat it then.

    If i can’t wait about an hour or two for Mama’s, go to Mo’s Grill in Upper Grant. More conventional but still delicious breakfast options and the wait is short if there ever is a line. After that, I’ll check out Stella Pastry and ask for a slice of Sacripantina, a rum sponge cake only found at this bakery.

    These four things are all located in the North Beach area so they aren’t too hard to find. Let me know how your experience goes if you ever try one of these spots!

  2. Love your blog Amanda and wish I was there in SF right now. A friend just went and I wish I had seen your suggestions before she went. Love your blog girl!!

  3. Lovely post accompanied with beautiful images…unfortunately I’m not a foodie, and I’ve noticed a lot of bloggers that travel seem to incorporate this in to their articles when visiting a place…and whilst I travelled around Spain last year this was the last thing on my mind…haha

Give me your thoughts!

