The Story of Us PART 2

To read part one click here.

After two years of a long distance relationship I was faced with the choice of moving.  I could move anywhere that had a community college and since my parents moved out into the boon-docks I had to find a place on my own.  I decided to sublet a friend’s apartment in SLO while he was on summer break.  I had very little money and no job, but enough money to try to find one over the summer and to find a place to rent.- If that same situation presented itself today I don’t think I could have done it!

I did the impossible and found a GREAT JOB at my beloved GMK (the law office that I sometimes refer to), and enrolled in Cuesta College.  A few months later Joe moved back down for school and we lived pretty close to each other! It was so nice to be together again.

After a year we moved in together to save money and have never looked back.  I worked at GMK and went to school at night while Joe went to school at Cal Poly full time and worked nights and weekends.  We didn’t see each other as much as some people, but we did what we had to and saw each other a whole lot more than we did before.  Plus we never missed birthdays or small holidays with each other anymore.

Here is where the story gets real.  We are human and we are not perfect.  In 2009 we broke up for a few months- 3 1/2 to be exact. It was the most difficult thing I have ever went through in my life.  It was necessary for Joe though, as he needed to be sure he was happy in our relationship.  Working and going to school is stressful and we needed that time to regroup and grow up a bit.  At the end of the summer we both knew we were supposed to be together and when he came back I was whole again.

After Joe graduated we had another choice to make, as I was ready to transfer to a university as well.  We decided to move back to the central valley because Joe had a difficult time finding a job on the central coast, due to their EXTREMELY COMPACTED engineering opportunities and because Cal Poly is not an ideal school to attend for History and it is kind of expensive.

Leaving SLO was so hard. It was so sad and every time we go back we just feel wrong when we leave.  It is our town.  We hope to move back there one day.

When we first moved back up north Joe had a hard time finding a job there as well.  Finally he found one that would work for the time being and I began attending CSU Stanislaus.

After about six months I started to put the pressure on Joe to propose- it had been 8 years!  It was another hard time for me as I would get my hopes up and ultimately get let down.  Joe was not ready yet and I couldn’t understand why.  I cried a lot and I know it was difficult for him too.

A year and a half later we moved to Pleasanton when Joe finally landed a good engineering job in San Francisco and that takes you to where we are now.  I am graduating in May and hopefully will attend law school in SF in the fall.

I don’t want to leave you hanging, we are not engaged.  We have had MANY talks about it and I am ok with it for now.  We have a plan and so far we are sticking to it.  It’s more about finances than timing so don’t worry, I didn’t give him a schedule to follow!!

Yesterday for our anniversary we went to dinner at Haps steak house.  It was THE BOMB! Hands down best dinner we ever had, even better than Harris Ranch. (I talked about our dinner at HR for my birthday last year and you can read about it if you click the link!)

Joe brought home some beautiful red roses and we exchanged gifts before heading to dinner and had some fantastic wine when we came home.  It was so special and relaxing.  It was the best anniversary yet!

Now that you know our life story, I have to say I am so lucky to have him in my life.  He makes me laugh, he gets my quirks, he lets me be me!  He is smart and compassionate, and super cute if you ask me!

Our relationship has been full of ups and downs, but mostly ups.  We could not have come this far without a few really amazing friends and of course our families, not to mention a ton of work and commitment on our part!

Thank you for going down memory lane with me!  I look forward to the day when I can blog about being engaged, planning a wedding, buying a house, and having babies!  Also going to law school!

Cruise

Cruise 2009

On the cruise 2009

Me and Joseph xmas 09

Christmas 2009

Top of Bishops Peak

On top of Bishops Peak in SLO 2010

Giants Game 2010

Giants Game 2010

Halloween 2011 2

Halloween 2011

Joe and I NL West clincher

Giants NL West clincher 2012

Joe and I Raiders Game

Raiders game 2012

Joe and I dinner San Dimas

Out to dinner in San Dimas 2013

10 year anniversary

Last night for our 10 year anniversary

To be continued…

xoxo

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

