Diabetes

Hi there friends,

I know I say this every time, but there is a reason I haven’t been blogging lately.  Last week my Mom was in the hospital for 5 days and I was back home for 6.  She is home and doing OK, but not quite good enough for us to feel good about it.  She is a diabetic, type 1 for the last 17 years.  She has always had issues adjusting to her insulin, as many diabetics do, and has had many other complications along the way.  Last Thursday she was taken to the hospital for having EXTREMELY low blood sugar, causing her to be unconscious in the ICU for 3 days.  She stayed in another room for 2 days after that and finally went home.  She is still having very high and low sugar readings and we are currently awaiting an appointment with the endocrinologist so that her insulin can be regulated.  It is very frustrating having to wait for their call because her life is on the line and we are all on high alert. 

Diabetes

I want to thank my family and friends who knew what was happening for their support.  We felt so much love and greatly appreciate every thought, prayer, text and call!

For those of you who are unfamiliar with diabetes, it is no joke.  It effects every system in your body and is dependent upon your eating and exercise habits.  I have known this all along but learned SO MUCH from our wonderful nurses at Mark Twain.  If you know anything about me, you know I have a major sweet tooth and this has made me think twice before putting so much strain on my pancreas. 

I think it was a wake up call for the whole family and maybe it can be for you too.  I am planning on dedicating a blog post to diabetes education so that more people can understand the seriousness of this disease.

Everyone have a good night and hug your loved ones!

xoxox

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

