Crock Pot Breakfast Scramble

This morning I awoke to the smell of breakfast and coffee!

Don’t worry, Joseph isn’t in the dog house! We have his uncle staying for the weekend and last night I prepared a crock pot breakfast scramble that I found on Pinterest.  I also prepped the coffee, but it felt good to wake up without having to make it!

Star Before I get into all of that, I want to say THANK YOU to everyone who commented on my Faith post yesterday.  I went to church today and I feel so good. The message was just what I needed and I got the first visit to a new church “out of the way”.  Today was all about family, and it almost made me cry, God is good and he just knows what we need.

Back to the food!

Ingredients:

12 eggs

1 bag of frozen hash browns

1 16oz roll of sausage (I used Jimmy Dean HOT)

16 oz of shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup of Milk

Salt and Pepper to taste

Optional items: If I make this again, this is what I would add!

1 bell pepper (red or green)

1/2 white onion, chopped

Tabasco sauce

Directions:

Brown your sausage and set aside. If you are using the onion, go ahead and add it to the sausage while browning.

Crock Pot Breakfast sausage

Spray the bottom of the crock pot with cooking spray and layer your hash browns on the bottom.

Crock Pot Breakfast hash browns

Shred your cheese, if not done already, and chop your bell pepper.  (It looks like a lot of cheese, but it isn’t too much for the scramble)

Crock Pot Breakfast cheese

In a medium bowl, crack your eggs and whisk them together.

Crock Pot Breakfast eggs

Slowly add the milk and Tabasco sauce, and add in salt and pepper.  A good amount of pepper is needed.

Crock Pot Breakfast whisked eggs and milk 

Layer the sausage on top of the hash browns, then the bell pepper, and lastly the cheese on top of that.

Crock Pot Breakfast sausage on top

Crock Pot Breakfast cheese on top

Mix it all together before you add the egg mixture.

Crock Pot Breakfast before eggs

Pour the egg mixture over the top and mix it until even.

Crock Pot Breakfast uncooked

Cover and cook on low overnight, or for 6-8 hours.

When you wake up, you can serve it alone, or you can make breakfast burritos out of it.  We did both, and it was so tasty. 

Crock Pot Breakfast Scramble

As I mentioned before, when I make this again, I will add the bell pepper, Tabasco, and onion.  I think it will give it more texture and flavor.

It will serve 6-10 people, depending on portion size.

Enjoy your Sunday and don’t forget to spend some quality time with your family.

****This post has been linked to The Kurtz Corner for a Linky party! Go check Audra’s blog out here!

xoxox

Amanda

35 thoughts on “Crock Pot Breakfast Scramble

  1. how about using the frozen potatos O’Brien instead of the hash browns? then you don’t have to chop and add the bell peppers and onions. We make a similar one to yours and that’s what we use, great for burritos when the waterpolo boys have an early workout (they are starving afterwards!)

  2. Pingback: Easy Crock Pot Breakfast | Cooking with Courtney

  3. Thank you for posting this recipe. I made it exactly as you wrote and it was delicious! Even warming it up next day for leftovers was good. Wasnt dried out like in a skillet.
    However i am wondering, if i dont have frozen hashbrowns on hand do you think i could shred my own potato’s and it turn out okay?

  4. Pingback: Overnight Crock Pot Breakfast Recipes ‹ Mamahive Blog

  5. My family loved it!!! My son suggested make it and warm up tortillas and make breakfast burritos. Thanks.

  6. I was wondering if you’ve tried not mixing the hashbrowns and just leaving a layer at the bottom of the crockpot to crisp up?

  7. There are only two of us. Is it possible to downsize for a smaller crockpot? How much should I downsize if so?

  8. Here is the crackpot breakfast casserole recipe. I’m going to do bacon instead and omit the peppers and onions. Let me know that you got this.
    M.

    • How did the bacon come out Jenna K.? I thought about ham but maybe the recipe needs to grease from the sausage or bacon. Anyone use ham?

  9. This sounds great. I am thinking that adding a can or two of diced Ortega chilles instead of the bell pepper would be good, too.

  10. if you precook your hash browns they will hold up better in casseroles. I do a similar recipe with tater tots and I bake them first as usual

  11. Ok so I made this for my family last night but the only problem was all of my cheese stuck to the sides and bottom and got really brown.. any ideas?

  12. Pingback: B.Fast Casserole | Ithinkicannoli

  13. Pingback: Inspiration Sunday: Slow cooking! |

  14. Pingback: Crock Pot Breakfast to cook overnight for breakfast the next morning! - FoodFoni

  15. Pingback: Crock Pot Breakfast Scramble...cook it overnight for a yummy warm breakfast ready in the morning!...cant wait to try this! - My Pinterest Cookbook

  16. I love this recipe! I followed it exactly the first time and wasn’t too crazy about it. If you’re a seasoning junkie like me then definitely try using Simply Potatoes Steakhouse Seasoned Diced Potatoes instead of hashbrowns. I cooked these on the stove with medium heat adding crushed red pepper, some garlic powder, and Marie Sharp’s habanero pepper sauce for about 10 minutes. Then I cooked the potatoes on high heat to get a crispier texture before putting them in the crock pot. When I browned the sausage, I was sure to add onion powder, garlic powder, and freshly cracked black pepper. I also added a pound of bacon to the recipe even though it only calls for one meat. I was sure to add milk to my eggs as the recipe calls but also added some more cracked pepper and just a little bit of hot sauce. Layering everything in the crockpot and cooking for about 7 hours made this a perfectly seasoned masterpiece!

Give me your thoughts!

