Christmas craft roundup 2012

Good Morning!

As promised I am here to deliver the odds and ends of my Christmas crafts for 2012.  The last two days I have posted about recycled Starbucks glasses, and wine bottles, but today I will show you how to make monogramed ornaments, tile coasters, a movie basket and a cute glass bottle tree.

Monogramed Ornaments:

Before I ever knew that I would make the others, I decided to make monogramed ornaments out of wood letters that I found at Joann’s.  They are pretty simple, but can require a bit of patience.

E ornament

Wood Letter ornamentsWooden letters drying

J ornament

What you’ll need:

Wooden letters

Mod Podge (and brush)

Scrap paper

Ribbon

Name tags

Scissors

Sharpie or other colored markers

First I picked out the letters that I wanted, then chose several sheets of Christmas themed scrap paper. I don’t recommend using the thick or glittery sheets, they do not bond as easily.  I also purchased some cute ribbon and little tags to write my name and the year.

I started by tracing the letter on the paper and cutting it out.  That is the patience part, especially if you have one with a hole in the middle, like a B!  Next I used my silver or gold sharpie to fill in the sides of the letter so that they aren’t just wood colored.  Then I spread some Mod Podge on the letter, centered my paper over it, and let it sit for a few minutes before adding a coat on top. I ended up adding a second coat, making sure to get the edges sealed.

After it was dry, I hot glued a loop of ribbon on the back so it can hang on the tree.  I also wrote my name on the back because the name tags will probably come off.  I tied the name tags on with jute and attached the letters to the gift bags!

Glass bottle tree:

What you’ll need:

A glass bottle

Spray paint

Elmer’s glue

Glitter

Tree toper for small tree

I also made a cute little tree for my sister Jamie.  She collected most of my Starbucks bottles for me, and also gave me an oddly shaped one that was a different kind of drink. She said, you can make this one into a tree! So I did Smile 

Jamie's tree before star

xmas 12 glass table

That picture was taken before I hot glued the star to the lid, but that was the only one that I have!

I began by spray painting it green, along with the lid.  I purchased the star from Target in the small tree décor section.  I used regular Elmer’s glue to make dots all over the tree (after it was completely dried of course), and then sprinkled glitter over it.  Simple Simon, and very cute for her room!

Tile Coasters:

What you’ll need:

6 Square Tiles

Pictures printed on regular paper

Mod Podge (and brush)

Scissors

This year I made tile coasters for my Dad! Last year I made him some cork coasters, but his dog ate them! (Stewart!!) They were round and I cut maps from all of the important places in his life, where they have lived, where he was born, or favorite place,etc.  I should have put the cork on wood but I didn’t think they would get ruined. That was BEFORE they got a dog! So they died and I needed to make him new ones. 

This year I used cheap square tiles from the Home Depot (under .50 each!).  Instead of maps I printed out pictures of everyone in black and white and Mod Podged them, just like the ornaments.  I wrote on the reverse side of course, and used felt furniture pads underneath so they do not scratch the table. There were 6 in all.  He was surprised and loved them!

Tile Coasters

Instead of pictures you could use cute napkins or other paper that you like, you could also monogram them! The possibilities are endless. I think I will make some for us now!

Family Movie Night Basket:

What you’ll need:

A basket

Lots of Treats

A movie or a gift card to rent movies

Lastly, and this doesn’t even qualify as a craft, a movie night basket!  Joe and I were stumped when thinking of something to get for his uncle’s family. They have four kids, two in high school, and twins in 5th grade.  They all enjoy board games, but we weren’t sure which ones they already had.  My Mom came up with a great idea, a family movie night basket!  They all love movies and treats, and they don’t often get treats so we thought it was a great way to get them to spend time together.

Family movie basket

We got the basket at Michaels, for 60% off baby! Then we went to Cost Plus World Market and the grocery store.  Inside we have root beer, cream soda, pop corn, pop corn seasonings, crackers and fancy cheese, licorice, old time taffy, some chocolate covered espresso beans, and some other chocolate treats.  We also wanted to give them a gift card to rent a movie, but that seems to be a lost cause these days. We found out that you can get Redbox gifts on their website and the codes will be emailed to the recipient so that they can use them whenever they want.  It was $6 to give them 5 rentals, what a deal!!  On Christmas Eve we sent them the email so they wouldn’t see it before and when they opened the basket we told them about the email. 

They loved the basket and the idea, the kids wanted to eat everything right away! Originally I wanted to put a bowl in there too, but we ran out of room!!

Well now you know why I wanted to share all of this ahead of time! Many of these can be used all year long, except for the ornaments, unless you like them that much!

Until next time,

xoxox

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

