The best sugar cookies

The last couple of days has been all about baking and watching Christmas movies for this girl.  Last night I made my favorite sugar cookies and frosted them this morning. I also made some more fudge and watched It’s a Wonderful Life!

Every year growing up we made Crisco sugar cookies, and used the largest cookie cutters we could find. I always remember the frosting disasters that we would have as well, ie mixing colors and ending up with a  greyish color. Either way, they were delicious.

Last night Joseph helped me make the dough and then became more interested in something else and I finished them solo. LOL it figures!

I also made a special batch of rolo cookies for my Mom, but don’t tell her! I am going to surprise her with them tomorrow!!

The sugar cookie recipe comes on the inside of the butter flavored Crisco package, but I can’t find it on their website. So here it is:

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cups sugar

1 stick of Crisco (butter flavored)

2 eggs

1/4 cup light corn syrup or regular pancake syrip

1 T vanilla

2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

Directions:

DON’T TURN ON YOUR OVEN YET! This dough needs to be refrigerated for an hour.

Combine sugar and Crisco in a large bowl. Beat at medium speed until well blended. Add eggs, syrup, and vanilla. Beat until well blended and fluffy.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Gradually add to the creamed mixture, beating at low speed until well blended.

Divide dough into 3 or 4 sections and wrap in plastic wrap to refrigerate for at least an hour.

Preheat oven to 375. Spread 1 T of flour on waxed paper. Flatten dough with hands and roll out your dough with a rolling pin.  Flour your cookie cutters, and do your thing.

Bake them on an ungreased cookie sheet for 5-9 minutes or until you see the edges beginning to brown.

Frost after cooled! You can use any frosting recipe that you prefer. I used the old powdered sugar favorite. 1 cup powdered sugar, sifted. 1 1/2 T milk, and 1/2 t vanilla. I divided it afterwards and added food coloring!

dough balldough rolledtwo star cookies rawdough stars on sheetbaked naked starsFrosted cookies allfrosted cookies two

I only used 3/4 of the dough for the sugar cookies. I used the rest for my Mama’s surprise rolo cookies!  A couple of months ago my Mom and I were looking at recipes on Pinterest and saw one for snicker doodles stuffed with rolos. She let out a gasp and said that she LOVED rolos and wanted to make them. Well instead of buying more ingredients for snicker doodles, I put the rolos in my sugar cookie dough! I baked them at 375 for about 10 minutes.

rolo cookies unassemledrolo cookies unrolledrolo cookies rolledrolo cookies bakedrolo cookies inside

They. are. awesome.  I will tell my Mom to heat them up for a few seconds first because they are SOOOO good warm and gooey, but I ate a cold one today and it was also delicious!

Please excuse my blurry pictures! I lost my camera and have to resort to iphone pics until I find it!

Q: What is your secret to the best sugar cookies?

xoxox

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

