Sour Cream and Onion Chicken

I apologize if you are hungry, because this is not going to help!

A couple of nights ago I was rummaging through my fridge looking for something to make my chicken taste different than normal, and it hit me like a ton of bricks- sour cream and onion. Well actually, I had some sour cream and onion dip already made in there and that is what made me think about it!

This recipe is loosely based off of a sour cream chicken recipe that I found on Pinterest that was not as delicious.  You can see a picture of that one here:

pinterest sour cream chicken

As usual, I did not take my own picture, I really didn’t think I would put it on my blog! Mine looked less crispy, but tasted WAY better. I made this recipe twice, a little different the second time and still didn’t love it, so I changed it to suit my liking a third time.

So here is what I did:

Make Lipton’s onion soup mix into dip with a 16 oz container of sour cream and let sit for a few hours. (In my case it was made the day before)

In a pyrex dish, coat your chicken breasts with a little bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Next, spread the onion dip mix on BOTH sides of the breast. (I made two but there was enough dip to make six small breasts or four to five larger ones.)

Finally, I covered the top with Italian bread crumbs.

Bake until chicken is done, for two breasts that was approximately 55 minutes at 350 degrees.

Voilà, a simple and quick chicken dish.

I didn’t tell Joe what kind of chicken it was before he ate it, and he LOVED it!

Q: What is your favorite chicken recipe?

xoxox

Amanda

2 thoughts on “Sour Cream and Onion Chicken

  1. Amanda, thank you for linking this in to Food on Friday. We are now starting to get quite a collection of onion dishes together. Do stop by some of the other links to check them out!

    Ps I have just signed up to follow your blog on Google Reader. A follow back to Carole’s Chatter would be wonderful – or have you already followed? Cheers

    Ps If you would like email reminders of future Food on Fridays, just pop by and comment and include your email – I won’t publish it – and the reminder will be by bcc so it will remain private

Give me your thoughts!

