Daily Prompt- Dear Leader

I am happy to report that I am feeling WONDERFUL after my massage today.  My stiff neck has been cured, now all I have is a sore back (in a really good massaged sore way!). 

I have been crafting up a storm over here and I wish I could share them with you but that will come next week.  Don’t worry, many of the crafts that I made can be for the whole year, not just Christmas. However, you can chose to make them in any theme you like.  In the meantime, I will participate in the Daily Prompt.

Daily Prompt: Dear Leader- If your government (local or national) accomplishes one thing in 2013, what would you like that to be?

Current situations have caused our government officials, both local and federal, to concentrate on gun control.  Being in California, I am sure I will be hearing about this for a long time to come.  One of the reasons that I picked this topic today was because just this morning I wrote a letter to Senator Boxer expressing my views on gun control. That is not the way I want to go today, so maybe I will tell you about that another time.

Today I want to concentrate on something else, education. In 2013 I hope education is a topic that California and the U.S. concentrate on.  I think improvements can be made at every level, pre-k through college.  Focusing on college (as that is a current concern for me), tuition costs are out of control. I go to a state university and while it is much cheaper than a private school, it is still ridiculous.  Even in the past two years my tuition has increased noticeably. And don’t even get me started on the problems that my professors face.  The chancellor and the system are a joke.  The state is running the program like a for profit institution and could care less about the students or the teachers.  Another big issue, text books.  I mean, really? If you are unaware of the text book issue, just think of any money-sucking issue and apply it there. They charge more and more every semester to students as they continue to release new editions with minimal changes.  This is just the tip of the iceberg. I am not going to continue to bore all of you, but just know there is plenty more where that came from.

csu tuition increases

Q: What would you like to see changed?

xoxox

Amanda

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt- Dear Leader

  1. Pingback: Dear Leader | Beyond Beauty Tips

Give me your thoughts!

