Prayer

I have been living a pretty low-key life the last couple of weeks due to finals, and I have not had a ton of things to blog about.  Today I was searching for inspiration to start studying for the LSAT and ended up finding inspiration to blog about prayer! 

A couple of years ago my sister gave me a book of daily inspirations. There is a passage for each morning and night, and there is always a question and space to reflect.  I have not used it every day, but when I do, I always have a great outcome.  For December 11th, the morning passage is about prayer.  I wanted to share it with you because it is so relevant in my life and I thought it may be relevant in yours as well:

Just Pray

Anyone who is having troubles should pray. Anyone who is happy should sing praises. James 5:13

Do you want to know how to deepen your prayer life? Pray. Don’t prepare to pray. Just pray. Don’t attend a lecture on prayer or engage in discussion about prayer. Just pray.

Posture, tone, and place are personal matters. Select the form that works for you. But don’t think about it too much. Don’t be so concerned about wrapping the gift that you never give it. Better to pray awkwardly than not at all.

And if you feel you should only pray when inspired, that’s okay. Just see to it that you are inspired every day.

-Do you ever find yourself so concerned about the form of your prayer that you don’t offer it all? Why is it better to pray awkwardly than not at all?

Grace for the Moment- Max Lucado

I loved this topic. I often over analyze myself when it comes to prayer. I was once told that there is a specific way to pray and that was the only right way to do it. It seemed so intimidating to me at the time. When I began RCIA, this was a question that I posed to my group. The answer was simple- there is no wrong way to pray. We talked about different ways to pray and some of us shared our favorite time/place to pray. It was so nice to hear all of their thoughts.

It may seem strange, but I tend to pray in the car.  I happen to drive a lot, and when I am alone I reflect. I will pray about anything and everything. Sometimes I say it out loud and sometimes I just think it. I wonder if anyone has ever seen me sign the Cross on my drive?

If you are interested in the book that I quoted, you can find it here.

Q: How do you pray?

pray

xoxox

Amanda

One thought on “Prayer

  1. I usually pray when I’m scared or worried about someone. For me its not a specific place its how I feel in the moment.

Give me your thoughts!

