Home sweet home

When someone says home, do you think of where you currently live? Do you envision your parent’s house?  Most of you know that I recently moved and of course it takes a while to feel at home.  This place is oddly comforting and I felt home almost immediately. 

Since high school I have moved A LOT! 9 times to be exact, wow.  That is just what happens when you are in college and only sign one year leases! To be fair, not all of the moves were my idea.  The first was with my whole family to my parent’s current house.  I lived there for a very brief time before moving to San Francisco for school.  That made an interesting notion of home for me because my parent’s house was one that I did not have a bedroom in, and in a town that I was unfamiliar with.  Fortunately I moved into my great grandmother’s home in SF and that felt much more comforting.  After a couple of years I moved to SLO.  The first place was a sub-let with people that I knew, so that was nice as well.  Unlike many people, I did not have any furniture of my own yet, so everything in the place was unfamiliar. After that I had two apartments in SLO.  The second, with Joe was our first place that we lived without roommates. We lived there for over 2 years and it really felt like home to us.  We loved that tiny little place so much!

When we ventured back up north we lived with Joe’s mom for a few months and then into the first house that we rented.  I also loved that house except for the mice, and the distance to everything.  The inside was cozy and I felt home there as well.  After that we moved into Joe’s grandparent’s house for a few months as they were out of the country and needed someone to care for their things.  Then we moved here.  I still haven’t gotten half of the furniture we need, so no more pictures for y’all until I decorate for Christmas. SORRY!

The point is, yesterday I was at my parent’s house and my Mom has begun to decorate for Christmas! Now that they have been there for a long time it feels like home to me.  Here are some pics that I took:

xmas 2012 mom's tree

xmas 2012 mom's santa and mrs claus

Below is one of the wreaths that I made as Christmas gifts for my family members last year, obviously this one is for my Mom!

wreath for mom 2011

I also snapped a quick picture of my favorite pet, Stewart! He is six months old already!!

Stewart 6 months

He is such a big boy now! 

Everyone have a safe day with the crazy storm.

Question of the day: Where do you feel most at home?

xoxox

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

