Sweet sweet validation!

I am writing to you today to convey my thoughts regarding my career choice. 

Before I begin, I would like to point out that I am not, nor do I claim to believe that I am perfect in any way.  However, I would like to say that I am more certain than ever that my choice to NOT become a professor was the right one.

I am taking my Senior Seminar course this semester.  This is the highest class that an undergraduate can take.  It is supposed to be the pinnacle of our career here at CSU Stan.  It includes picking a topic in history, coming up with an ORIGINAL angle on it, and researching it.  We can either write a 30 page paper, or review 8 books.  I chose the paper and so most of the class.  We are also supposed to read and critique another student’s work.  We did not get to chose our partners, and I ended up with a doozie. 

The paper is supposed to be between 24 and 30 pages and he wrote a whopping 9.  That’s fine with me, less to critique, or so I thought it would be.  Words cannot describe the frustration I feel towards this project.  My critique is supposed to be 3 pages, I could probably write 20.  How in the hell does one get this far in the major and not know ANYTHING about writing?  Every sentence has grammatical errors, structure errors, and to top it off, NONE of them are cohesive.  It is almost like he wrote one sentence a day without reading the prior.  It is all over the place and in the worst way possible.  I even emailed my professor to say sorry that he has to deal with this kind of thing. 

Not only is this paper horribly written, it is formatted incorrectly.  Our text for this class is on writing history papers.  Seriously people, I want to scream!  I don’t think he should have graduated high school, let alone be graduating college.  For those of you who may be wondering, no, he is not special, and these are not dyslexic errors.  They are BRAIN errors.  I’m 100% serious when I say not a single idea extends beyond two sentences.  He also failed to come up with any angle, he just spit some “facts” out there, with little to no citing. 

Frustrated

That picture accurately depicts how I feel about that paper.

I could not handle this as a job.  I would be driven to drink or to take up martial arts.  THANK GOD I didn’t chose that path after all.

GO VOTE if you haven’t, or else someone like my partner could be leading our country one day.

xoxox

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

