Dream big

Good Morning lovelies!

I am up bright and early as we went to bed at the wild and crazy hour of 8:30!  We were exhausted and barely made it to then. 

This weekend we got to hang out together without any work/homework for a change. It was like a vacation!  Yesterday we went to the Raiders game and saw our friends who said they missed us during the NLCS!

599191_10151118993512647_509259037_n[1]

Last week I received my LSAT score, let’s just say I was a little disappointed in myself.  All is not lost, I will still be applying to schools, and I may take it again in February if I feel I need to.  It did get me thinking however.  I haven’t always wanted to become a lawyer.  This process is tedious and really made me evaluate the reasons that I am doing this.

As a kid, my mother always told me that I would be a lawyer and I never wanted to hear it.  I always thought if I couldn’t be a singer or a pro dirt biker, I would be a dentist.  That dream lasted for almost 5 years!  When I was in high school I decided that it wasn’t my passion and somehow decided that I wanted to become a Fashion Buyer.  After high school I went to FIDM (The Fashion Institute for Design and Merchandising) in San Francisco and graduated with an AA in Merchandise Marketing.  At that point I knew that I needed to get a BA in order to get a job that would become a career and applied to several universities in California.  When NONE of them accepted me, I was told that FIDM did not have the right kind of accreditation to transfer.  I was a little more than angry.  That was my first question to the admissions worker upon applying to FIDM, “can I transfer into a 4 year?”  Yes was the answer, no was the outcome.  Unfortunately, almost all of my girlfriends at school were in the same situation.  Many of their parents decided to take part in a class action suit, that we decided not to get involved in.  I had two choices, start over, or work as a sales associate somewhere at the mall.  I couldn’t see myself as a store manager so I decided to start over. 

At this point, my parents were in Valley Springs and I was looking into community college, I decided not to move back as they were not very close to any of them.  Joe had been at Cal Poly for two years and I had fallen in love with SLO.  It was an easy choice and I already knew of someone looking to sublet for the summer.  With $300 I packed my life into the Talon and moved down.  Luckily for me, the apartment was furnished and I had prepaid for 3 months.  My plan was simple, find a job, find a place to live, and enroll in Cuesta college.  Just an FYI, I don’t know that I would be so optimistic at this point in my life, LOL! I guess being 19 has its benefits.  Within two weeks I was hired at GMK, the law office that changed my life.  I also found an apartment and a roomie, who had everything that I didn’t, kitchen gadgets and living room furniture.  I coaxed my friend Josh into picking up a mattress and I was ready to go!  By the time Joe moved back for school I was settled in and not far from his house.  I started classes a month prior to him, and I don’t think he knew what to think.  He knew about my moving down there, of course I asked if he was ok with it, but I don’t know if he expected my life to turn around so quickly. 

For the next few years I worked by day and went to Cuesta at night.  I met and fell in love with my GMK family, who have made me a better person all around.  After a couple years Joe and I moved in together.  We were happy to be together and I was happy with my life.  I had clear goals and I was working hard to get there. 

When I started at Cuesta they did not have a marketing department, so I decided to take communication courses and transfer into marketing when I could.  Then it all changed.  As I was going through my general education courses I took a history class from a very special teacher.  Mr. Barclay was passionate about his classes.  He loved what he did and we all noticed.  It was only a coincidence that it was a history course.  I also happened to like history, but I didn’t ever make the connection.  I decided to re-evaluate my goals and at first I thought it would be political science, and then economics.  I didn’t change my major, I was just looking further into some of my classes and doing some research.  One day it hit me like a ton a bricks.  I wanted to major in something that I liked, and not something that I thought I could get a job with.  I went to visit my advisor and tweaked my plan to transfer as a history student.  I thought I could get a teaching credential or an MBA and decided what I wanted to do later. 

When the time came to apply to universities again I was a little worried.  I had done it once before and I was anxious to move on to the next step.  I only applied to two schools because Joe and I wanted to move back home.  If jobs were easy to come by in SLO we probably would have stayed there.  I was also secretly looking into law schools because I had become very interested in that topic since working at GMK.  I was not ready to say it out loud to my coworkers or my mother but I was pretty sure that was what I wanted to do.  I had been at GMK for over 4 years and I knew what the lifestyle entailed.  I was interested in the cases, and I loved the atmosphere of the company.  I don’t think I told anyone except Joe, Jen, and Lauren. 

A few weeks went by and I got my acceptance packet from CSU Stanislaus and I was pumped!  Just a few weeks after that I announced my plans to my coworkers and we moved to Ripon.  Much to my dismay, my acceptance letter from UOP arrived after we moved and took almost 3 weeks to get to our new address.  I opened it the day after orientation and four days before school started.  I got over it and made the best of my situation.  CSU Stan has become a great place to be and I have come to love my department and peers. 

Csu Stan sign

The point of this story is to remind myself what I have been through in order to achieve my dreams.  I am not there yet, but I am well on my way.  If you think that the score of one little test is going to shake me, then you have got the wrong idea. 

Over the years my plan has evolved, and I have worked too hard to let it all go.

This situation has also made me think about what I would do if everything was different.  Maybe I would be an interior designer, or a house flipper! Think Nicole Curtis and Dina Manzo. 

If you were free to start over and do anything you wanted to do, what would it be?

xoxox

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

