Chicken Noodle Soup kinda day

Hello there,

It’s Friday, Hawaiian shirt day, j/k…a prize for whoever can tell me what that is from!  Yesterday was our first real “fall” day here in Pleasanton, and most of Northern California for that matter.  We had a little bit of a sprinkle and some cooler weather, which I am very excited about!  When I went shopping on Wednesday I decided to try making my chicken noodle soup in the crock pot, which I usually make on the stovetop.  I didn’t even take the weather into consideration when planning the meal, my main goal was to have dinner for Joe when he got home because on Thursday nights I have a late class.  It happened to work out perfectly for all three of us because it was cold, and soup was the perfect solution!!

My recipe is almost exactly like my mom’s recipe, which she would make during the cold weather seasons and whenever we were sick.  It is my favorite soup and has become one of Joe’s as well.  I have to admit, after trying the crock pot version, I do prefer it on the stove.  The main reason is because I had to boil the noodles separately, partly because I did not have room, and partially because I forgot to buy some and had to run to the store after I put the bulk of the ingredients in the crock. Either way, the recipe is exactly the same except when making them on the stove, I put the noodles in the pot with the rest of the ingredients after boiling them.  Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

3 boxes of chicken broth, or 2 boxes and chicken bouillon

1/2 white onion, minced

4-5 carrots, chopped

1 bunch of celery, chopped

2-3 cloves of garlic

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 bag of wide egg noodles

salt and pepper to taste

extra virgin olive oil

Instructions:

Fill a large pot with enough water to boil the chicken breasts, and do so.  While they are boiling go ahead and chop your onion.  I like to freeze mine for about an hour before chopping it because I am very sensitive to “onion eyes”.  Next fill your pot or crock pot with 2 boxes of chicken broth.  (From here on out I will just refer to it as the pot, if you are using a crock pot follow the same steps unless otherwise instructed)

    Chicken Soup Crock Pot with Broth

After the chicken is done, turn it off and let it cool a bit before taking it out.  Once cooled, transfer it to a cutting board and allow it to cool enough so that you do not burn yourself before shredding it!  While the chicken is cooling, sauté the onions in extra virgin olive oil, over medium-low heat.

Chicken Soup onions While the onions are softening, mince your garlic.  If you like garlic as much as I do, go ahead and use more, if you want less, do your thing.  Add the garlic and begin shredding your chicken.  Chicken Soup onions and garlic

The chances are the garlic and onions will be ready before the chicken is done, so make sure to keep and eye on it.  When the onions are soft, and before the garlic begins to brown, remove it from the heat and add to your chicken broth.  When the chicken is shredded you can add that to the mixture as well. 

Chicken soup shredded chicken

At this point, if you haven’t already, you can turn the crock pot on high, or turn on the stove to medium.  If you are planning on putting it in the crock pot for more than six hours, then you can set it to low.

The next step is to chop the carrots and celery and add them to the pot.  Add some salt and pepper, I personally add more pepper as the broth usually has a salty taste already. 

                 Chicken soup celery   Chicken Soup chopped carrots

If using the crock pot, you can add your noodles if there is room for them.  WARNING: the noodles soak up a lot of broth, so if you have room for noodles you should add more broth as well.  If you do not have room for noodles no fear.  You can either boil the noodles on the stovetop with broth or a bouillon with water, and preserve them for later, or you can make the noodles when you are ready to eat.  The soup should take 6-8 hours depending on your heat setting.

Chicken soup noodles

If using the stovetop, you can prepare your noodles in a separate pot and add them to the rest of the ingredients when ready.  The ingredients should have come to a boil before adding the noodles, and when you add them, reduce the heat to low and simmer for an hour, or until the carrots and celery are to your liking.

Chicken Soup in the crock pot

When I have chicken noodle soup, I personally enjoy eating it with saltine crackers, so if that is the same with you, make sure you have plenty on hand!!  This recipe yields enough so that the three of us could have soup for dinner and lunch for a couple days straight if we wanted too.  I would say enough for 12-15 medium sized bowls, or 8-10 large bowls, if there is enough broth!

That is it, simple Simon.  My mom pretty much does the same thing, sometimes she doesn’t add onions or garlic, it depends on who wants to eat it in her house!

I hope you all have a great weekend!  Joe and I are going to an Oktoberfest celebration tomorrow night, and that is pretty much what we have planned for now.

Take care,

xoxo

Amanda

Give me your thoughts!

