Birthday Weekend, food and fun!

Good Morning!  I am so tired today after a weekend full of fun and LOTS of good food.  Before I get to that, this is what I did at the salon on Thursday!

Hair

This isn’t the greatest picture, but I had a long weekend, and this was the best that I had!!!

My normal highlights were updated and the color is only on my left side, and underneath, so no need to worry, I am not walking around with clown hair!!  That night I celebrated my birthday with Jen and Joe by eating some delicious red velvet cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory, which Jen picked up on the way home from work. 

Birthday Cheesecake

It was hard too see the beauty in the to-go plate, however it was mouth watering.  They also showered me with gifts!

Coach clutch                Uggs

The clutch from Jen, and the Uggs from Joseph! I love them so much, and I am spoiled rotten, per usual. 

Friday was my actual birthday, and it started off with a great phone call!  I found out that we are indeed moving to Pleasanton into the cute condo that Joe and I checked out last week!! I also had many wonderful birthday calls from my family! 

I went to lunch with Joe’s Mom and Aunt, and then went crafting with my friends.  It was so much fun!! I worked on some Christmas presents, so no pictures just yet Winking smile  After crafting I went home to pack for our weekend getaway in San Luis Obispo.  On our way we stopped off at Harris Ranch for some birthday dinner, and it was amazing.  The best steak I have ever had in my life.  I order the Filet Mignon and Joe ordered a big, juicy Rib eye.  His was also tender and delicious.  

Harris Ranch Birthday Dinner

Dinner was so filling and we practically floated the rest of the way to the hotel.  We woke up feeling completely satisfied (from dinner, get your mind out of the gutter!!).  We had a big breakfast planned and didn’t even dare because we were still pretty full.  Instead we opted for Old West Cinnamon Rolls in Pismo, an old family favorite.  The line was long, and wrapped the building, but as Joe said, “at least we will get a fresh one”.  Boy was he right.  Of all the times I have ate there, this was the best. 

Cinnamon Roll      Old West Cinnamon Rolls

Afterward we walked around Pismo Beach and then went shopping at the outlets. Later on we met some of my SLO family for lunch at the Village in Arroyo Grande.  We chatted and enjoyed good food at a cute new restaurant called Rooster Creek. Pictures completely slipped my mind as I was so happy to see everyone and to meet Lauren’s newest edition, Serena.  Who was the sweetest little peanut!! I just love her to death.  After lunch we walked around the farmers market and the village with Lauren and Serena, and had some cookies at a local bakery. 

Later on we found ourselves in downtown SLO enjoying our old stomping grounds.  We picked up a few things from the Cal Poly store and also found some things at Urban Outfitters.  We stuffed ourselves with a  pizza for dinner from a local favorite, Woodstocks.  I had my favorite, the Fire Bird, a spicy pizza with chicken, jalapenos, and hot sauce, and Joe had a pepperoni.  We did some more shopping and headed back to the hotel to get ready for our night out with our friend Ryan.  We were tired but found a second wind and danced until closing…who says we are getting old??

Night out with Ryan

Sunday morning we were up and at ‘em early and had another great meal.  We went to Avila and ate at the Village market, where I got a breakfast wrap complete with a cup of fruit and a coffee.  It was perfect.

Breakfast Wrap

I need to remember to take a picture BEFORE I nearly devour my meal Smile  Joe had an omelet and also enjoyed it mucho.  Our next stop was Avila Valley Barn, one of my favorite weekend traditions of the past. 

Flowers AVB

They grow all sorts of beautiful flowers as well as an array of fruits and veggies, which is what they are known for.  They also have a charming bakery, a sweet shop, a toy store, a bunch of kitchen décor, a plethora of jams, and barn animals.  Exhibit A and B:

     Sheep AVB                Mule AVB

We picked up some really cute items and some tasty ones too!

We then took a drive around Cal Poly and walked around a bit too!

Joe at Cal Poly

We also drove around our old neighborhood.  We felt as if we had never left, as if we were coming home.  It was the perfect way to end the weekend.  Although we had one last stop.  Our favorite sushi restaurant, Sushiya!!  Our friend Ryan ordered Fire in the Roll, which actually had fire!!

Fire in the Roll

As always it was excellent.  When we got home last night we watched the Hunger Games and went to bed.  Boy were we tired!!  By the way, did you notice? No sports this weekend! How different for us!

Today I am planning on doing laundry and studying.  Thanks for reliving my weekend with me!! Do you have a place that is “home” to you?

xoxox

Amanda

One thought on “Birthday Weekend, food and fun!

  1. Pingback: The best thing I ever ate… « Damanda Lynn

Give me your thoughts!

